Dixon-Levy GSA Service Award

Find more information on the Dixon-Levy GSA Service Award here.

Each spring, winner(s) are selected by the Dixon-Levy Award Committee.  Nominees and winner(s) are contacted by the selection committee, and winner(s)  receive an award during the Graduate Student Association General Assembly Meeting in June.

History of the Award

In 1998, the GSA established the Travis Dixon GSA Service Award, in recognition of graduate student Travis Dixon’s many years of service to the GSA. In 2002, the GSA renamed the award as the Dixon-Levy GSA Service Award, in recognition of graduate student Alan Levy’s many years of service to the GSA. The dual name of the award acknowledges that service to graduate students at UCSB comes in many forms, not only through serving as an elected GSA Officer, but also through advocacy of graduate student interests in a variety of other ways.

Please provide information about a member of the campus community who has unselfishly devoted him/herself to the improvement of graduate student life.  To nominate an individual, please follow the link below and describe in detail the actions taken by the nominee to justify him or her receiving this prestigious award.


All graduate students, undergraduates, administrators, faculty, and staff are eligible to be nominated.  GSA elected officials are not eligible to be nominated for actions related to their elected role as an Executive Officer.

Award Criteria

This prestigious award will be given to outstanding members of the university community who have unselfishly devoted themselves to the improvement of graduate student life. Contributions to graduate life should extend beyond what is deemed appropriate to everyday work or civic service responsibilities.


To make a nomination, please include in your online nomination form a full and detailed description of the actions taken by the nominee to improve graduate student experience at UCSB.

Important Dates 2018-2019

Nomination deadline: Friday, March the 15th, 2019 by 5:00 PM PST.

Award recipients will be announced during the final GSA General Assembly meeting in June.

For questions, please email our VP of Academic Affairs at gsavpacademic@gmail.com.

2017-2018 Dixon-Levy Award Winners

Sam del Castillo (Graduate Student)
Timnit Kefela (Graduate Student)
Joy Garza (Graduate Student)
Sherene Seikaly (Faculty)

Honorable Mentions
Catherine Nesci (Faculty)
Sarah Anderson (Faculty)

These individuals were selected for their various contributions to graduate students on our wonderful campus.  We would like to highlight a few of these and explicitly acknowledge their hard work.

Sam del Castillo has been a strong advocate for the LGBTQIA+ community, founding the first-ever graduate student LGBTQIA+ group on campus. They have been able to use their lived experienced as inspiration to develop resources and support systems for LGBTQIA+ grads.  Sam has truly gone above and beyond their role as graduate student to make life on campus better for the community.

Timnit Kefela has helped develop to an environmental justice course, is superb teaching assistant, and has served on numerous departmental committees. She is also an active member of the UCSB Black Graduate Students Association (BGSA) and a leader in the community, working tirelessly to ensure that anyone who strives to pursue a career in STEM is given the opportunity and resources to do so.

Joy Garza founded the Asian American Graduate Student Association on campus, an organization making great strides in increasing the visibility of Asian American graduate students. She is also an active member of the Graduate Student Association, well-respected by her peers, and consistently demonstrates altruism toward fellow grads, She is an inspiration for graduate students on campus.

Sherene Seikaly has been an exemplary role model in her department, and has been exemplary role model for how a professor should value, treat, and respect their graduate student colleagues. Professor Seikaly was one of few professors to visibly show support for grad students by participating in the UCSB Grad Tax Walkout protesting the Trump administration’s policies concerning the tax plan and its attack on graduate students.  Sherene stands for graduate students’ rights, both literally and figuratively, and we thank her for her service.

Catherine Nesci receives an honorable mention in recognition of her years of devotion to students in Comparative Literature. As Chair of the interdisciplinary program, she has consistently secured opportunities for graduates across campus and fostered fruitful partnerships that benefit their long-term job prospects. Prof Nesci has acted as a mentor of the utmost care and insight by generously offering her time and expertise at practically any hour of the day and time of the year.

Sarah Anderson receives and honorable mention for her dedication to her students’ success and their overall wellbeing. She has shown that her care for her students goes well beyond the classroom boundary and these out-of-classroom interactions have had significant impact on many of her students.

Congratulations to our winners and honorable mentions!  Please join the GSA in thanking our winners for their hard work and dedication towards the betterment of graduate student life at UCSB!


2016-2017 Dixon-Levy Award Winners

Melissa Barthelemy
Kyle Crocco
Inés Talamantez
Mark Wilber

Honorable Mentions
Erin Adamson
David Stamps
Tricia Taylor